Wright State University | College of Science and Mathematics | Department of Mathematics and Statistics | Dr. Seoh's Home Page

AAUP Wins Election at Wright State University
Goto AAUP/WSU Homepage)

Washington, D.C.—The Wright State University chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) won the right to represent faculty members as their collective bargaining agent in an election held May 20-21, 1998.

More than 90% of eligible voters turned out, with the official vote count 197 in favor of AAUP and 177 for no union representation. Faculty voted on the main campus at Dayton and on the smaller Lake campus in Celina, Ohio.

This is AAUP’s sixth four-year institution in the Ohio State University System to unionize, AAUP national president James E. Perley said, after hearing the results. Perley, who is a professor of biology at the College of Wooster, was delighted that another Ohio school joined the scores of campuses nationwide that engage in collective bargaining with AAUP as their representative.

The campaign for unionization, which began several years ago, gained momentum in June 1997 when the AAUP Chapter submitted a petition of the Ohio State Employee Relations Board (SERB) to seek recognition. In April 1998, the SERB upheld AAUP’s position over the definition of the collective bargaining unit and the election was scheduled for May.

Former AAUP chapter president, Mel Goldfinger, professor of physiology, spearheaded the drive by Wright State faculty members to unionize. After learning of AAUP’s victory, Goldfinger said, This represents the culmination of a two-and-a-half year effort to engage faculty in the resolve to have an effective voice in how the university is managed. This will ensure that academic priorities are maintained even in the face of dwindling State support for higher education in Ohio.

AAUP chapter president Adrian Corbett, also a professor of physiology, hailed the successful election as an historic opportunity for faculty to play a distinct and strong role in meeting the challenges facing Wright State in the coming years. We look forward to working with our new administration to improve the educational experience at Wright State, ensure that students benefit from the latest technologies in their classes, and enhance the reputation of Wright State as a prominent and well-respected four-year university in Ohio.

The American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is the only national organization exclusively serving the interests of college and university faculty members. AAUP supports and defends the principles of academic freedom and tenure and promotes policies to ensure academic due process. AAUP has more than 44,000 members at colleges and universities throughout the country. For more information, contact Iris Molotsky, 202-737-5900, Ext. 3011 or imolotsky@aaup.org

Goto AAUP/WSU Homepage

Send any comments and/or suggestions to Munsup Seoh 

Wright State University | College of Science and Mathematics | Department of Mathematics and Statistics | Dr. Seoh's Home Page